Alt.NET Never Went Away

“Two long posts in two days? What gives?”. Hello, Dear Reader. I’m late to the party, and those who know me know I usually have some sort of comment bursting to come out. Also, these things are important to me, my career, frankly my ability to put a roof over my childrens’ heads. I hope it makes vaguely interesting reading. Don’t worry, while I’ve decided to put more effort into blogging, I won’t be able to keep up this schedule. ūüôā

Alt.SAYWHAT?

Personally I was late and missed the movement that was Alt.NET. I eventually got¬†to .NET via¬†VB.NET in 2004 and C# a year or so later. When Alt.NET was “happening”, I was still newish and hadn’t yet outgrown the Microsoft-supplied default environment (although I had stopped installing the MSDN library from the disk). I had no idea there was a community. I’d never even heard of such a thing as a “user group”.

Alt.NET by Accident

However, despite not actually joining the Alt.NET movement, I still ended up looking outside the “out-of-the-box” experience eventually.¬†Yes I’ve used WinForms, SQL Server, DataSets, WPF, ASMX, WCF, WebForms (yuck), but I’ve also used NServiceBus, Dapper, GetEventStore, RavenDB, JavaScript. I use Vim as my text editor, and ReSharper+VsVim when I do use Visual Studio. When I did a spike with Neo4j a couple of years back, I installed Eclipse and used Java instead of bloody-mindedly sticking with the .NET client libraries. I’ve tried Rider and I like it. I’ve seen where I can do better than CRUD in places and implemented DDD, CQRS, Event Sourcing.¬†In personal projects I’ve had a bit of a go at Python and Node.js, among others.

I realise I’m sounding¬†massively big-headed here, while¬†trying to illustrate my breadth-firstedness. Allow¬†me balance that by admitting I’m not the world’s greatest programmer by a long chalk, but I believe in being aware of as much as possible and hopefully knowing things just well enough to know what, where, why, when and how¬†to look deeper¬†when necessary. That’s more difficult now than I’ve ever found it.

Bring Back Alt.NET?

While the Alt.NET movement may have passed into history, its values remain. Do we need to bring it back? I don’t think so. Should we remember it and refresh our collective memory, for our own benefit and the benefit of those coming into our industry? Yes, absolutely.

You see Alt.NET as a concept never died. It simply became the new status quo. People are now used to looking away from Microsoft for solutions. There is a problem that needs addressing, however. While the Alt.NET mindset is about looking outside for inspiration and bringing it back, or integrating it, the same does not appear to be the case from the other direction.

We need more balance.

The values we should be promoting these days should be inclusive. We don’t want .NET User Groups, Python User Groups, Java User Groups (is there even such a thing?) DevOps User Groups, ServerLess User Groups. We need Software Development User Groups. One big happy nerdy community of like-minded individuals sharing neat things. Whatever platform you’re on, don’t be afraid or too arrogant to look around and see what other platforms/languages/communities have on offer, and offer your own ideas. We’re not on opposite ends of a see-saw any more,¬†it’s a huge flat surface balanced on a point, and we’re spread out all over it. And besides, if we all came together on one point in the centre, it’d still balance.

Quick note on the health of .NET

I blogged about waning attitudes towards .NET already so I won’t revisit that here. The real question is: is .NET itself dying? My answer? I don’t know but I hope not and I suspect not overnight. I don’t believe the hyperbole of anti-Microsoft types, locked in their echo chamber, but I’m not naive enough to believe it’ll just live forever, and I recognise I’m in an echo chamber of my own, so I leave the door open and sit on the porch as often as possible.

So far I’ve only found one person¬†who’s bothered to actually try and analyse the situation. His results suggest .NET might be losing momentum “on the server”, hence the suggestion for a renaissance – a rejuvenation of sorts, but while interest might be waning, that doesn’t mean it’s any less capable.

.NET can make a huge comeback on the server with¬†cross-platform .NET Core, containerisation, serverless, the cloud, and since any problem can be solved with a layer of indirection, I suggest we leave the too-specific term “Alt.NET” itself behind, and stand behind a wider philosophy of inclusion, balance, humility. A kind of “Alt.DEV”, if you will.

Leave a Reply

