Apple Store Lockout

I’m in the market for a new laptop. I’ve spent a fair amount of time looking around and, despite being a 100% Windows user for my entire career, am seriously considering a 15" MacBook Pro Retina for my next upgrade. It’s a massive extravagance but I’m hoping it’ll last me even longer than my tired old Dell 6400.

Now since these things don’t come cheap, I want to have a good opportunity to play with them before I take the plunge. So I went to the Birmingham UK Bullring Apple store on Sunday to have another go with one.

As I arrived at the store, I saw the queue of die-hards outside the shop waiting patiently in line for the new iPad Mini, and decided there was no need for me to join that queue. I asked the chap at the door if I could come in to look at a MacBook.

"Oh we’re queuing just for entrance at the moment."

So I walked away. I still intend to get one of these machines at some point, but it’s safe to say it won’t be going on the monthly sales figures for that store.

I can understand making people queue to get one of the first handful of a new thing (putting aside the artificially-strangled stock availability), but I can’t understand why the store would make me queue behind them to look at something totally different?

One thought on “Apple Store Lockout

  1. I was told it was because the store itself didn’t meet health and safety regulations for customer numbers that day. Apparently, it was so busy it was causing crushing, and they were having to manage customer flow, which is fair enough.
    I have to admit that when I did eventually get in, it was a much more pleasant environment than it usually is in there. The guy I spoke to – Lee, or something – was a moron, however…

Leave a Reply

